banner image

Oklahoma Law Review

Since 1948, the University of Oklahoma College of Law has published the Oklahoma Law Review (OLR) to serve the profession and the public with timely discussion of legal issues.

Current Issues     ● Past Issues     ● Submissions     ● Masthead

● Availability    ● Writer’s Guidelines    ● Reprint Requests

Who We Are

Founded in 1948, the Oklahoma Law Review is published quarterly by University of Oklahoma College of Law to serve the profession and the public with timely discussions of state and federal legal issues. OLR’s editorial board and membership are composed of law students, who work in consultation with a faculty advisor. Each issue of the Review contains articles written by scholars and practitioners, as well as comments and notes authored by journal editors and members. OLR also publishes an annual symposium issue.

OU Law students gain admittance to OLR via high academic standing or by selection through an annual writing competition. First-year students are briefed on these two methods in the Legal Writing and Research class. Members develop invaluable skills in analyzing legal problems, marshaling authorities, and expressing themselves accurately and precisely. Academic credit is also earned for participation on OLR. Approximately fifty students take part in OLR each academic year.

What's New at OLR

The current issue of the Oklahoma Law Review, vol. 70, no. 4 (Summer 2018) is now available in PDF format at the Current Issues page.  This issue features an adaptation of Professor Ross E. Davies' 2017 Henry Family Lecture delivered at the OU College of Law last October, "Five Little Lessons in Lawyering from Thurgood Marshall."  Also featured in the issue are the articles "Shoot First, Litigate Later: Declaratory Judgment Actions, Procedural Fencing, and Itchy Trigger Fingers," by Professor Robert T. Sherwin; "FERPA Close-Up: When Video Captures Violence and Injury," by Kitty L. Cone and Professor Richard J. Peltz-Steele; and "Combating Prosecutorial Misconduct in Closing Arguments," by Michael D. Cicchini.

The Oklahoma Law Review has elected editorial board members for 2018-2019.  They are: Editor-in-Chief: Collen L. Steffen; Managing Editor: Katherine M. Raunikar; Executive Articles Editor: Alan Fonseca; Articles Editors: Sarah K. Capps, Anthony W. Joyce, and Thomas J. Joyce; and Note and Comment Editors: Victoria Johnson, Eric Krampf, and Allison Meinders. 

The Spring 2018 issue of OLR, vol. 70, no. 3, was published in February and may be found in PDF format at the Current Issues page.  This issue features "Taxation of Gamblers: The House Always Wins," by Professor Christine Manolakas; "The Commenting Power: Agency Accountability Through Public Participation," by Dean Donald J. Kochan; "Punishing Criminals for Their Conduct: A Return to Reason for the Armed Career Criminal Act," by Sheldon A. Evans; and "Agriculture and Res Ipsa Loquitur," by Professor Chad G. Marzen.

The Oklahoma Law Review now prefers article submissions via Scholastica.  See the Submissions page for details.

The Oklahoma Law Review would like to thank the editorial board members who served during the 2017-2018 academic year: Editor-in-Chief: Mitchell B. Bryant; Managing Editor: Eleanor C. Burg; Executive Articles Editor: Cole McLanahan; Note and Comment Editors: Colby J. Byrd, Joshua R. Fanelli, and Alexander Sokolosky; and Articles Editors: Gerard Michael D’Emilio, Devin L. Kerns, and Jennifer B. Puckett. Appointed editors who will serve for 2017-2018 are: Assistant Managing Editors: Christine Chevis, Lauren Clifton, Emilee Crowther, Ty Schoenhals, and Michael Whaley; Assistant Articles Editors: Kaitlyn DeYoung, KatieBeth Gardner, David Herber, Kellie Reidlinger, Peter Shadid, and Skyler Sikes; Research Editor & 2L Mentor: Connor Bourland; Topic Editor & 2L Mentor: KatieBeth Gardner; Symposium Editor: Elizabeth Byrne; Assistant Symposium Editor: Gunner Joyce; Judiciary Committee: Hanna Roberts (Chair), Emilee Crowther, and David Herber.

The Oklahoma Law Review back issue archive is in the process of being relocated.  PDF copies of issues going back to vol. 58, no. 1 are now available through our Digital Commons page. Additional volumes will be added in the months ahead.

How to Contact Us

Collen L. Steffen, Editor-in-Chief:,  (405) 325-5192

Katherine M. Raunikar, Managing Editor:, (405) 325-5192

Alan Fonseca, Executive Articles Editor:, (405) 325-5192

Michael Waters, Editorial Advisor:, (405) 325-5191

OLR's regular mailing address is: Oklahoma Law Review, University of Oklahoma College of Law, 300 Timberdell Road, Norman, OK 73019

OLR on Digital Commons

Explore the Oklahoma Law Review on OU Law’s Digital Commons.

Thank you for your interest in applying to OU Law

Please select your program of interest to learn more about the application process.

J.D. ProgramM.L.S. ProgramLL.M. ProgramLegal Assistant Education Not sure? Learn more about admissions at OU Law